Photography analysis paper: stories and narratives

 Analysis Paper: Stories and narratives Photography is more complicated than click and shoot. It is about telling a story. Even simple portraitscan tell complex narratives. These photographs convey ideas, concepts, and paradigms. Sometimes it is capturing a specific moment while many times, it is staging a set or multiple set, or editing multiple images through darkroom or post production manipulation. Please take some time and browse through these articles and ted talk for a better understanding of visual storytelling. https://contrastly.com/storytelling/ https://www.magnumphotos.com/theory-and-practice/telling-stories-single-image-series/ https://www.nationalgeographic.com/travel/intelligent-travel/2013/05/03/do-yourpictures-tell-a-story/ https://streetbounty.com/art-storytelling-photography/ https://www.david-campbell.org/2010/11/18/photography-and-narrative/ https://www.keptlight.com/narrative-and-meaning-in-photography/ https://www.ted.com/talks/david_griffin_on_how_photography_connects Please write a 4 page paper (NOT COUNTING REFERENCES): 1) introducing the artist(s) of your choice, give a little background (0.5 points) 2) explain the reasons why this particular photographer stands out to you (0.5 points) 3) analyze one or more of the artist’s work a. Formal Analysis (2.5 points) • Looking for visual elements: shape, size, texture, line, value, and space. • Looking at visual components: focus, light, repetition, vantage point/angle, balance, foreground/midground/background space, contour, contrast, setting, framing/placement. • Looking at the photographer’s decisions about the composition (the arrangement of the visual elements and components) of the photograph. b. The content (image and meaning) of the photograph, and the artist’s intention. (2.5 points) • Look for symbols in shapes, objects, color… • Look for cultural significance, relationship. • Look for hidden meanings (if applicable), social or personal commentary/statement. c. The historical and social context of the photograph as well as the time when the photograph was made. (2.5 points) 4) Is this the first time you are exposed to this type/genre/style of photography? Do the works (you should browse through as many links as possible) fit your notion of photography? Why? Why not? How are the works connected to photography history (reference your textbook)? Connect this artist/work(s) with everything you have learned so far. (2.0 points) 5) Include citations (yup, the artist link is one of your citation). Minimum 3 sources please. (0.5 points) ** remember, you should connect your analysis to your textbook, research you have done on your own, some of the links relating to photography I have introduced previously. ** You should also use the tips and guides in the Resources Module. The Tips doc has a list of vocabulary that will be very useful in writing the paper. You may choose from this list of photographers. I am introducing you to many contemporary artists from all over the world. These are photographers that work on their personal art projects AND make a living in the advertising/commercial world. You can choose works from their commercial projects or their personal work. Sacha Goldberger http://sachagoldberger.com/book/ Erik Johansson http://www.erikjo.com Kremer Johnson https://kremerjohnson.com Nadav Kander https://www.nadavkander.com Jean-Yves Lemoigne http://www.jeanyveslemoigne.com/home/#/ Charit Pusiri http://www.charitpusiri.com Ransom & Mitchell http://www.ransommitchell.com Tim Tadder https://www.timtadder.com Jaime Travezan https://www.jaimetravezan.com David Lindsey Wade http://www.thewadebrothers.com Marja Pirila – http://www.marjapirila.com/now.html Katrina Kepule – http://www.katrinakepule.com/index/ Manuel Cosentino – http://www.manuelcosentino.com Kirsten Luce – http://www.kirstenluce.com/about Rena Effendi – http://www.refendi.com/about Newsha Tavakolian – https://www.newshatavakolian.com/about Erik Almas www.erikalmas.com/ 

Calculate the price of your order

550 words
We'll send you the first draft for approval by September 11, 2018 at 10:52 AM
Total price:
$26
The price is based on these factors:
Academic level
Number of pages
Urgency
Basic features
  • Free title page and bibliography
  • Unlimited revisions
  • Plagiarism-free guarantee
  • Money-back guarantee
  • 24/7 support
On-demand options
  • Writer’s samples
  • Part-by-part delivery
  • Overnight delivery
  • Copies of used sources
  • Expert Proofreading
Paper format
  • 275 words per page
  • 12 pt Arial/Times New Roman
  • Double line spacing
  • Any citation style (APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, Harvard)

Our guarantees

Delivering a high-quality product at a reasonable price is not enough anymore.
That’s why we have developed 5 beneficial guarantees that will make your experience with our service enjoyable, easy, and safe.

Money-back guarantee

You have to be 100% sure of the quality of your product to give a money-back guarantee. This describes us perfectly. Make sure that this guarantee is totally transparent.

Read more

Zero-plagiarism guarantee

Each paper is composed from scratch, according to your instructions. It is then checked by our plagiarism-detection software. There is no gap where plagiarism could squeeze in.

Read more

Free-revision policy

Thanks to our free revisions, there is no way for you to be unsatisfied. We will work on your paper until you are completely happy with the result.

Read more

Privacy policy

Your email is safe, as we store it according to international data protection rules. Your bank details are secure, as we use only reliable payment systems.

Read more

Fair-cooperation guarantee

By sending us your money, you buy the service we provide. Check out our terms and conditions if you prefer business talks to be laid out in official language.

Read more

Order your essay today and save 20% with the discount code RESEARCH